05 September 2016

2016 NFL Awards Predictions

(Getty Images)
We are only a few days away from the commencement of the 2016 NFL season so let's predict who will get the major hardware at the end of the season. Here are my 2016 NFL awards predictions.

NFL Predictions

MVP - Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh Steelers
Pittsburgh Steelers (1969 - 2001)If you expect a big season from the Pittsburgh Steelers, as I do, and especially one from their offense, then you expect a big season from Roethlisberger and I think it will be one that results in him getting his first MVP award. He has got the supporting cast to crank up some numbers, including the best wide receiver in the league and a solid rushing attack, plus since the defense is still not particularly good, he almost has to put up a lot of yards. In fact, I think he will crack 5,000 passing yards.
Runner-up - Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers

Offensive Player of the Year - Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers
Pittsburgh Steelers (1969 - 2001)We have gone back-and-forth on this one before, whether or not the NFL MVP, which is virtually always an offensive player, should also be the recipient of this award. After all, how could the top player in the league not win the award for top player on his side of the ball? It's a legitimate argument that this award is generally superfluous but that said, I expect that Brown, with the help of the league's MVP, will put together such a good season that he'll get this award.
Runner-up - Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh Steelers

Defensive Player of the Year - Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders
Oakland Raiders (1964 - 1981)Considering that J.J. Watt has won this award three out of the last four years, it would be pretty easy to pick him once again. That said, I think the NFL has found itself a new defensive superstar and it is Mack. Mack was terrific in his first season under coach Jack Del Rio and coordinator Ken Norton Jr. both in the pass rush and against the run. One of the key reasons why the Raiders look to make a playoff push this season has been the excellence of Mack and now that he's got more help, he should only be better.
Runner-up - J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Offensive Rookie of the Year - Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys
Dallas Cowboys (1964 - Pres)Without question, this is the easiest award to predict and I would be very stunned if Elliott did not win the award if he can stay healthy. After all, he only gets to run behind the top offensive line in the league (Darren McFadden ran for more than 1,000 yards last season after all) and now with Tony Romo out for a good chunk of the season this season, he is the focus of the offense now.
Runner-up - Corey Coleman, Cleveland Browns

Defensive Rookie of the Year - Myles Jack, Jacksonville Jaguars
Jacksonville Jaguars (1995 - 2012)Now to an award that is much more wide open, I like Jack to win this award. Granted, this is prevalent on him being healthy and his knee injury in his final season at UCLA led to him falling in the draft. But Jack is an elite athlete and a tremendous fit for the defensive scheme that coach Gus Bradley likes to operate and with the motivation after his sharp drop in the draft will help propel him to this award.
Runner-up - Jalen Ramsey, Jacksonville Jaguars

Coach of the Year - Bill Belichick, New England Patriots
Boston Patriots (1965 - 1970)Belichick has thrice been the NFL's Coach of the Year, with the last win coming back in 2010, and I think he has got a good shot to crank out another win this year. If the Patriots can do well enough in the four games with Jimmy Garoppolo filling in for the suspended Tom Brady and thus the team cruises to yet another AFC East crown, then Belichick should win this award in my opinion.
Runner-up - Jack Del Rio, Oakland Raiders

No comments:

Post a Comment