18 January 2016

2016 NASCAR on Fox Announcers

The 2016 NASCAR campaign kicks off in less than a month and it will kickoff on Fox Sports. Not only will we be seeing the start of a new season come Daytona but we will be seeing a brand new Fox announcing crew for the first time ever. More on that after the jump.

As I reported back in May, the now-retired Jeff Gordon will join Mike Joy and Darrell Waltrip in the Fox broadcasting booth for the Sprint Cup Series. Joy and Waltrip had been teamed with Larry McReynolds since the debut of Fox's NASCAR coverage 15 years ago but the network saw the opportunity to add a living legend to the booth took much to resist. Gordon should be pretty good as an analyst but I do think that the better move would have been to boot Waltrip from the booth instead of McReynolds.

The pit reporters for the Sprint Cup Series will be Jamie Little, Chris Neville, Vince Welch and Matt  Yocum while the pre-race show will remain intact with Chris Myers hosting alongside the brothers Waltrip, Darrell and Michael. NASCAR RaceDay will precede each telecast on FS1 and will be hosted by a mix of Myers, John Roberts and Danielle Trotta with analysts Wally Dallenbach, Jeff Hammond and Kenny Wallace joining the on-site broadcast team and reporters Alan Cavanna, Andrew Doud and Kaitlyn Vincie.

Adam Alexander returns to helm the Xfinity Series booth alongside the younger Waltrip and a rotation of Sprint Cup regulars, as they did last year. The Xfinity pit reporters will rotate among Little, Neville, Hermie Sadler, Welch and Yocum. NASCAR RaceDay-Xfinity will be helmed by Trotta alongside McReynolds and Wallace.

Welch will become the new voice of the Camping World Truck Series while Michael Waltrip and Phil Parsons return to join him in the booth. The pits will be manned by by Sadler, Vincie and Yocum while NCWTS Setup will be hosted by Roberts and he will be joined by Todd Bodine with contributions from Ray Dunlap.

No comments:

Post a Comment