25 February 2014

2014 NCAA Tournament Announcers

We are only weeks away from the 2014 NCAA Tournament and it is a good thing then that the announcers for the CBS/Turner production are out. And even better, or worse, there are some changes to both the game crews, the studio crews, and to the coverage as a whole. Let's take a look.

Announcing Crews
1. Jim Nantz, Greg Anthony, Steve Kerr (Final Four), Tracy Wolfson
 2nd & 3rd Round: St. Louis
 Regional: Indianapolis
 Final Four

2. Marv Albert, Steve Kerr, Craig Sager
 2nd & 3rd Round: San Antonio
 Regional: Anaheim

3. Verne Lundquist, Bill Raftery, Allie LaForce
 2nd & 3rd Round: Buffalo
 Regional: New York

4. Kevin Harlan, Len Elmore, Reggie Miller, Rachel Nichols
 First Four (March 19th)
 2nd & 3rd Round: Raleigh
 Regional: Memphis

5. Ian Eagle, Jim Spanarkel, Lewis Johnson
 2nd & 3rd Round: Milwaukee

6. Brian Anderson, Dan Bonner, Kristine Leahy
 First Four (March 18th)
 2nd & 3rd Round: Orlando

7. Spero Dedes, Doug Gottlieb, Jaime Maggio
 2nd & 3rd Round: Spokane

8. Andrew Catalon, Mike Gminski, Otis Livingston
 2nd & 3rd Round: San Diego

The studio coverage will be hosted once again by Greg Gumbel and Ernie Johnson in New York with Matt Winer helming down the Atlanta studio. Gumbel and Johnson will be joined in studio by Clark Kellogg, Kenny Smith and Charles Barkley, while Winer will be joined by Seth Davis, Grant Hill and Steve Smith as well as Doug Gottlieb in the second weekend. 

Studio coverage for the Final Four and the National Championship will be hosted by Johnson along with Barkley, Kellogg and Smith, with Gumbel, Reggie Miller, Davis, Hill and Gottlieb as well as to be announced college coaches also in the mix.

As you can notice, there are some changes to the announcing and studio crews, with the biggest being Greg Anthony and Clark Kellogg switching positions in what I think is a very good move. Kellogg is much better in the studio where he does not have to carry the analyst load, while Anthony is a pretty good color commentator. Other changes include Andrew Catalon replacing Tim Brando, who left CBS last month. While he will likely lack the strong chemistry Brando had with Mike Gminski, Catalon is a very solid announcer that has done quality work for CBS Sports Network for a couple years now. Plus, you also have the great Allie LaForce moving up to regional action with KCBS's Kristine Leahy replacing Marty Snider.

But perhaps the biggest change will be that the 2014 Final Four in Arlington will be on TBS, the first time the Final Four will not be on CBS since 1981, and the first Final Four on cable ever. The National Championship will still be on CBS. 


1 comment: