12 December 2013

2013 College Football Awards Predictions

Nobody likes a made-for-TV event quite like me and we have a doozy of one tonight with the College Football Awards program tonight from Walt Disney World. Here are my predictions for who will go home with the hardware.

Projected winner in bold

John Mackey Award (Outstanding Tight End)
Eric Ebron, North Carolina
Nick O'Leary, Florida State
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
- Can somebody explain to me how Jace Amaro of Texas Tech was not even nominated? Anyways, save for Amaro, Ebron has the most catches out of any tight end and has been a key weapon Larry Fedora's fast-paced offensive scheme.

Rimington Award (Outstanding Center)
Reese Dismukes, Auburn
Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
Tyler Larsen, Utah State
Bryan Stork, Florida State
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
- This is traditionally an award dominated by seniors and Ikard certainly fits the bill after an awesome senior campaign in Norman.

Ray Guy Award (College Punter of the Year)
Tom Hornsey, Memphis
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
Cody Webster, Purdue
- No matter how many times the Tigers stalled offensively, which was often, Hornsey was able to bail them out with precision, averaging over 45 yards a punt on 62 tries.

Lou Groza Award (Nation's Outstanding Placekicker)
Robert Aguayo, Florida State
Anthony Fera, Texas
Marvin Kloss, South Florida
- Aguayo may be a freshman but he was sensation for the Seminoles this year, setting an ACC record with 142 points.

Outland Trophy (Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman)
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Cyril Richardson, Baylor
- This is an easy choice, Donald was a monster this year for Pitt. He put up ten sacks, 26.5 tackles for loss and forced four fumbles. He was all but a one man defense.

Jim Thorpe Award (Nation's Best Defensive Back)
Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
- This is a tough call as all three are strong candidates but for a defense that took some major steps forward, Joyner was leading the way in Tallahassee.

Doak Walker Award (Nation's Premier Running Back)
Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
Bishop Sankey, Washington
Andre Williams, Boston College 
- All three were horses in 2013, but there is no question that Williams has made the biggest impact on his team, and also eclipsed the rare 2,000 yardage mark.

Chuck Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year)
Anthony Barr, UCLA
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
- This came down to Donald and Mosley, but I ultimately went with Mosley who did it all at linebacker for yet another potent Alabama defense.

Biletnikoff Award (Nation's Outstanding College Receiver)
Brandon Cooks, Oregon State
Mike Evans, Texas A&M
Sammy Watkins, Clemson
- All three had tremendous seasons and would all make fine selections, but Cooks' production has been insane.

Davey O'Brien Award (Nation's Best Quarterback)
A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Jameis Winston, Florida State
- There have only been two repeat winners of the O'Brien Award, the great Ty Detmer and Jason White. You will be adding Johnny Manziel to that list because he may just have had a better season than his Heisman campaign of a year ago.

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)
A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Jameis Winston, Florida State
- Is there really a doubt of who was the best player in college football in 2013?

No comments:

Post a Comment