27 May 2012

Dario Franchitti won the 2012 Indianapolis 500

On a record setting scorcher of a day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Dario Franchitti became the tenth racer to win three Indianapolis 500's. Franchitti and his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon finished 1-2 and both seemed to have the strongest cars of the race, one that set a record for the most lead changes. Franchitti, who at one point was at the back of the pack after the first pit stop when he spun out on pit road, held off a hard charging Takuma Sato who pressed on the last lap to try to pass the Scot on the inside of turn one but spun out after getting squeezed, handing the victory to Franchitti. As previously mentioned, this is Franchitti's third victory of the Borg-Warner Trophy and owner Chip Ganassi his third. Continue reading for the complete finishing order.

1. Dario Franchitti
2. Scott Dixon
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Oriol Servia
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hincliffe
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Townsend Bell
10. Helio Castroneves
11. Rubens Barrichello
12. Alex Tagliani
13. Graham Rahal
14. J.R. Hildebrand
15. James Jakes
16. Simon Pagenaud (R)
17. Takuma Sato
18. E.J. Viso
19. Michel Jourdain, Jr.
20. Sebastien Bourdais
21. Ed Carpenter
22. Katherine Legge (R)
23. Marco Andretti
24. Ana Beatriz
25. Josef Newgarden (R)
26. Sebastien Saavedra
27. Ryan Hunter-Reay
28. Will Power
29. Mike Conway
30. Bryan Clauson (R)
31. Wade Cunningham (R)
32. Jean Alesi (R)
33. Simona de Silvestro

(R) signifies rookie

No comments:

Post a Comment