09 January 2012

Barry Larkin Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

The newest member of the Baseball Hall of Fame, the 40th that played with the Cincinnati Reds, the 25th shortstop and the 48th who spent his entire career on one team, is Barry Larkin who was elected today after being chosen on 86 percent of ballots, his third year on the ballot. Larkin played from 1986-2004, all in the Queen City, and hit .295 with 198 home runs, 960 RBI's, 2,340 hits, 379 stolen bases as well as three Gold Gloves, 12 All-Star appearances, the MVP award in 1995 and a World Series Championship in 1990. Larkin fell 75 votes short last year.
Jack Morris was second of the ballot with 67 percent of the vote but fell 48 votes short and has two years on the ballot left. He was followed by Jeff Bagwell (56 percent), Lee Smith (51 percent), Tim Raines (49 percent), Alan Trammell (37 percent) and Edgar Martinez (37 percent). Bernie Williams received the most votes out of players elgible in what is considered to be a weak class with 55 votes. Next year's ballot will have Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Sammy Sosa and Curt Schilling eligible for the first time.

No comments:

Post a Comment